We, The Isolated Few

Hi, I wrote this poem. I wanted to write a piece about individuality and feeling alone for being different, and mainly about self-acceptance. This may well be one of my favourite poems I have written, more so than Assburger Asses, The Last Polar Bear, et al. Please enjoy.

Wake up, wake up.

Breakfast time is happening right now.

Mum takes my brother to school.

Dad’s at work, I’m alone, time to have some fun.

 

For a while, I had no style.

I didn’t know who I was, and now I do.

Thanks to you, you helped me see.

The person who I wanted to be, oh yes.

 

Let’s go away, let’s go away.

We can leave, we can walk, we can run.

We’re going to seize the day. We’re going to seize the day.

We so few, we’re the few, We, the isolated.

 

Let’s take the bus to the city centre.

Children stare at us.

We don’t care.

None of us cares anymore about that now.

 

We listen to our music,

And we wear whatever clothes we wear.

When someone confronts us,

It’s always the same dirty looks, oh Lord.

 

This is our time, this is our time.

We are young, we are free, and our lives are ours to lead.

Let’s love each other, one and all. Let’s love each other, one and all.

We so few, we’re the few, We, The Isolated.

 

My, my. My youth was a happy time.

Talking with other spaced out people, lost in a void of uncertainty about life.

 

So, so. Does it ever end?

That feeling you’re alone in the universe? Alone with an isolated few?

 

No, no. We may all grow old and die.

But I will never subscribe to a lie.

I never want to be someone else.

I never want to pretend I’m not unique. I am just going to remain free.

 

I’m a goth.

I’m a wiccan.

I’m a punk, a rocker, and a little bit of a metalhead.

I’m a nerd.

I’m a neat freak.

I’m a guy who was diagnosed with ASD, oh yes.

I’m a Muslim.

I’m a Christian.

I’m a band geek, who beats to his own drum, bang, bang.

I’m a Dad.

I’m a Pensioner.

I’m a person who will be me until I die. We, the isolated few will never lie. To ourselves.

 

Let’s go away, let’s go away.

We can leave, we can walk, we can run.

We’re going to seize the day. We’re going to seize the day.

This is our time, this is our time.

We are young, we are free, and our lives are ours to lead.

Let’s love each other, one and all. Let’s love each other, one and all.

We so few, we’re the few, the many isolated few.

One comment

  1. SauceBox · July 11

    Very good writing here. I enjoyed it from start to finish, it felt extremely original and fresh. Thanks for the read! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

Leave a Reply

